37th District Democrats Minutes: January 11, 2021 Re-organization Meeting (John Stafford)

1. Meeting Opening (7:07)

- King County Chairwoman Shasti Conrad calls the meeting to order, and temporarily runs the meeting.
- Duwamish Tribal recognition.
- Approval of minutes.
- Approval of acting officers for tonight's meeting.
- Discussion of voting protocols, and practice votes.
- Credentials report (72 total people in attendance; 44 PCOs, 23 Members, 5 Guests).

2. The Position of Chair (7:33)

- Stephen Reed is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Stephen Reed is elected (and takes over control of the meeting from Shasti Conrad).

3. The Position of First Vice-Chair (7:35)

- Carrie Barnes is nominated.
- Serene Chen is nominated.
- Vote: 27 Carrie, 16 Serene, 6 Abstentions.
- Carrie Barnes is elected.

4. The Position of State Committeewoman (non-binary) (7:47)

- Tomika Moss is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Tomika Moss is elected.

5. The Position of State Committeeman (7:49)

- Alec Stephens is nominated.
- Justin Baird is nominated.
- Vote: 24 Alec, 19 Justin, 2 Abstentions.
- Alec Stephens is elected.

6. Update from Kirsten Harris-Talley (7:55)

- Will be on Finance Committee and Environment and Energy and Children, Youth and Families.
- Other comments on Legislative Session.

7. The Position of King County Councilwoman (8:06)

- Serene Chan is nominated.
- Phyllis Porter is nominated.
- Vote: 16 Serene, 24 Phyllis, 1 Abstention.
- Phyllis Porter is elected.

8. The Position of King County Council Member – Male or Non-Binary (8:20)

- Brandon Hershey is nominated.
- Justin Baird Declines Nomination.
- Andrew Ashiofu (spelling ?) is nominated.
- Vote: 23 Brandon, 16 Andrew, 1 Abstention

9. The Position of King County Alternates – Woman (8:29)

- Serene Chen is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Serene is elected.

10. The Position of King County Alternates – Man (8:30)

- Andrew Ashiofu (spelling ?) is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Andrew is elected.

11. The Position of Second Vice-Chair (8:32)

- Justin Baird is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Justin is elected.

12. The Position of Third Vice-Chair (8:34)

- Tom Schmidt is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Tom is elected.

13. The Position of Fourth Vice-Chair (8:35)

- Mary Scanlon is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Mary is elected.

14. The Position of Treasurer (8:36)

- Jeanne LeGault is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- Jeanne is elected.

15. The Position of Secretary (8:37)

- John Stafford is nominated.
- No other nominations.
- John is elected.

16. PCO Appointments (8:39)

• The entire slate is appointed via unanimous voice vote.

17. Adjournment (8:48)

• Recognition of Judge Johnson